Congratulations (or not)! You’ve just been admitted into the Insane Asylum, a place where once again you can be normal and get the respect you rightfully deserve. Main Maniac has set these ground rules/criteria that he hopes can clear up some of the confusion regarding levels, streaks and what counts as an “official” race.
Q. Do I need to maintain my current Maniac level status by achieving the criteria each and every year?
A. No. Once a Maniac, always a Maniac (provided that you renew your annual membership dues). You don’t have to even complete another marathon or ultra after you are admitted into the Insane Asylum, though we’d much rather prefer that you’re out there participating in the events.
Q. Do I need to achieve all three criteria mentioned in a level in order to progress to a higher level?
A. No, you only need to achieve one of the mentioned criteria in a level to progress.
Q. For my best streak, does it have to be attained in a calendar year?
A. No, Main Maniac has relaxed the rules…it can overlap in 2 years, so if your streak of 6 marathon in 6 months (Silver level) was run from October 2006 – March 2007, then it officially counts.
Q. If I run a double marathon, say a 52.4 miler in one race, can I count that as 2 marathons? Can a 100 miler count as 3+ marathons?
A. Unfortunately no, it’s still considered ONE event counted towards your total number of races completed in the Insane Asylum. Remember, you’re out there running ultras because you truly want to run the distance, not to pad your stats!
Q. I don’t have access to a computer, so I really can’t update my marathons list. In addition, I don’t have time to update my marathon list because I’m out of town every weekend running these marathons…Can I still qualify for the “Maniac of the Year” Award?
A. Main Maniac can’t track everyone’s results through marathonguide.com or ultra web sites, so it’s imperative that you add your completed races in the Insane Asylum. So the answer is no, if you choose not to add your races, then you will not be eligible for the “Maniac of the Year” Awards.
Q. I’m part of a marathon relay team in which each member is running ~6.7 miles each, but after I complete the first leg, I’d like to run with the other 3 members on their respective “legs” and run the entire marathon. Can I count that as a completed marathon?
A. While technically you may have run an entire marathon, you were not registered to run in the full marathon event, just the relay, so sorry, it would not count. But at least you provided good company for your teammates!
Q. I’m part of a team doing the Haney to Harrison Relay and just about all of the members had to drop out due to altitude, hills and other stuff, resulting in my having to run 5 miles for the first leg and 27 miles for the next leg…can I count this as a marathon or even as an ultra finish (32 miles total?)
A. First off, you need to pick more reliable teammates, and if I were you I would make them pay for your meals, drinks, massage, etc…for getting you into this fiasco. But worst of all…IT DOESN’T COUNT!!
After much debate and discussion, the following guidelines have been established as to what constitutes an “OFFICIAL” race that would count towards your stats in the Insane Asylum and thus be eligible for any “Maniac-type” awards, starting January 1, 2008.
IMPORTANT MESSAGE: FIRST AND FOREMOST, WE PARTICIPATE IN THESE RACES FOR THE LOVE OF RUNNING, TO STAY IN SHAPE, THE CAMRADERIE WITH OTHER RUNNERS, TO TEST OUR PHYSICAL AND MENTAL LIMITS AND PURELY JUST TO HAVE FUN. THE MARATHON MANIACS CLUB WAS CREATED WITH THOSE TRAITS IN MIND. WE CAN BE SERIOUS AND AT THE SAME TIME JUST HAVE A WHOLE LOT OF FUN. PLEASE KEEP THAT IN MIND. WE KNOW WE CAN’T PLEASE EVERYONE!!
We are certain that there may be many more circumstances that need “interpretation” of the rules but we’ll cross that bridge when we get there. If you have any questions, concerns or comments regarding these rules, please e-mail the Main Maniacs. In the meantime…HAPPY RUNNING!!